Wednesday, November 08, 2006

Æthenor: Deep in Ocean Sunk the Lamp of Light

From the VHF website:

vhf#97 Æthenor Deep in Ocean Sunk the Lamp of Light LP/CD
Debut by trio of Stephen O’Malley (Sunn0))))), Daniel O’Sullivan (Guapo), and Vincent de Roguin (Shora). Taking its title from The Iliad, the music here is deep and cosmic, completely unlike anything you’d expect from such heavyweights. More in the tradition of Nurse With Wound’s "Spiral Insana" or Klaus Schulze’s "Cyborg" than any contemporary trend, the tracks float along in a masterful collage of activity, where careful scene changes highlight O’Sullivan’s classic but artfully placed Rhodes bombs, de Roguin’s organ, and O’Malley’s guitar. Extraordinary effort has gone into editing, mastering, and shaping these pieces – these are not tossed off improvisations or “side-project” orphans. Housed in CD and LP jackets hand-printed by Alan Sherry/SIWA. First VHF vinyl in 7 years!